This is the first of hopefully many blog entries from staff, students, parents, and community members who are excited about the Literary Kick Off and Loung Ung's First They Killed My Father.

Please feel free to comment on the book that was chosen this year or about the Literary Kick-Off Program.

Your participation on this blog will help make this truly a collaborative affair between all parties involved.

Cheers!
Mr. Divis
Holly Falzo
8/8/2010 12:12:01 pm

More of a comment than a question. I just can't imagine what it must have been like for you to walk away from the camp, with your siblings, and leave your mother and baby sister behind knowing that you would be separated from your siblings as well. You went through more trauma at such a young age than most people go through in a lifetime and I just can't image how you were able to keep going.

Reply
Chris Hodsden
8/8/2010 11:06:34 pm

I finished the book about a month ago. This was the second time I had read it. About two years ago, a niece of mine read the book as a part of a class she was taking in college. She then recommended it to everyone that she knew. When I read it the first time, I really wanted to ask the author lots of questions, both about the events in the book and about her life when she came to the United States. Now, I am really looking forward to September 8, when Loung will be visiting us. Additionally, I am in the middle of reading her second book, Lucky Child. I think that her Vermont connection will help our students relate to her story better than they might have otherwise.

Reply
Kimberly Wilkinson
8/16/2010 10:08:11 am

I am amazed that at such a young age you persevered through SO much. I have three children 6,8,10, and cannot even fathom the thought of them going through the ordeal that you did. In addition,(from having three young children)I wonder how you could recollect everything down to the tiniest of details! Your story is simply astounding.

Reply
Ryan
9/3/2010 01:32:44 am

Reply
Ryan
9/3/2010 01:39:54 am

I found the events you went through as a child to be very tragic. Fortunately, I cannot comprehend what horrible things you've gone through. I look forward to reading your second book.

Reply
jed
9/3/2010 02:38:01 am

have you ever found your mom?

Reply
jake
9/3/2010 02:38:17 am

i think its crazy what u went through

Reply
Ryan Hitchcock
9/3/2010 02:38:23 am

I was intrigued by Loung Ung's story, but the question that I would like to ask her is how does she feel about punishing the Khmer Rouge? Does she want to punish them or just let it go?

Reply
Ally D
9/3/2010 02:38:37 am

Well its pretty obvious this whole experience is something you will never forget but out of everything that happened what stands out the in your memory?

Reply
Kristen Lawlor
9/3/2010 02:40:42 am

I admire you for your strength, and perseverance; even at a young age. You are an inspiration to all that have to suffer through hard times.

Reply
jeremiah
9/3/2010 02:41:43 am

intense!

Reply
Brandi
9/3/2010 02:43:17 am

What you went through is just unimaginable. I don't think that I would have the strength to survive in your situation.

Reply
Robby R
9/3/2010 02:46:01 am

I could never imagine going through what you did at such a young age.

Reply
Catherine Morse
9/3/2010 02:48:55 am

For me, I couldn't imaging going through any of the stuff you went through. Going through so much loss in that amount of time is overwhelming to me. I was wondering what your views of Cambodia are now compared to when everything was going on in your life? Do you still call it home? How have they changed?

Reply
Judy Palmer-Guest
9/3/2010 03:06:11 am

Loung, I am an English teacher here at BFUHS, and when I first began reading your book, I did so in the evenings at home after reading Harry Potter to my 7-year-old son. He usually falls asleep by my side while I read on my own, and He often asks me, "What are you reading, Mom?" However, with your book, I found myself hesitant to state the title, even though he is quite capable of reading it himself, and before I had the chance to respond, he did just that. I found myself wanting to protect him, and yet realized that you were younger them him when the Khmer Rouge began to tear apart your family. Instantly, I realized how important the cover of your memior is, not just the photo, but the title. My 7-year-old son needed to see this, needed to read the title, and I needed to explain to him who the little girl on the front cover is - you. He listened intently, just as the students in my classes have listened and participated intently as we have had discussions related to your choices as a writer. What was most impressive to me was your choice to write in the present tense from the voice of a child, a five, six, seven, eight year-old-child - you. While you were enduring genocide, I was living a life in the United states as a child jumping rope, playing hopscotch and yelling, ally, ally in-come-free from backyard to backyard throughout my neighborhood. I had no idea, not even a clue, what you, your family and your fellow Cambodians were enduring. Although it's far removed from his Vermont Idyllic experience, My son, at least, knows from his own ability to read the title of your book and our talk, a little bit more about the horrors of war, and as a mother, I realize how important it is not to shelter him from the truth and how to talk to him in a safe yet direct manner about the children who continue to suffer in the world because of war.
Thank you for sharing your Memior with the world; you teach us how to channel and transform anger and hate into compassion and a powerful mission.

Reply
Michael
9/3/2010 03:29:34 am

what would you do differently if knew what was going on?

Reply
Aphrael
9/3/2010 03:35:56 am

I found it horrible how young of an age you were when you went through this.

How hard was it for you to write the book about what you went through in such detail?

Reply
Michael Webster-Dobson
9/3/2010 03:46:43 am

How did you feel, mentaly and emiothinaly,when these events were happineng?

Reply
Mrs. Christmas
9/3/2010 04:52:04 am

When I first began to read your book I was horror struck at what was happening to a young family across the ocean, while I was bike riding, swimming, and nurturing my own young children.I was not a child, rather an adult who did not keep herself informed about the atrocities occurring in other parts of the world, as I reveled in the daily joy of home and family. Your courage and perseverance serve as a hallowed candle in the darkness of war and hatred. Please know that by sharing your story, you will touch the lives of not only our school community, but also the coming generations who will lead us all into a peaceful world of tolerance and understanding.

Reply
Jake Stratton
9/5/2010 12:01:32 am

Your story is incredible. I couldn't imagine going through some of the things you did at such a young age. Having an entire child hood stripped away can ruin someone. You are a remarkable person for overcoming your situation and becoming the person you are today.

Reply
Tessa Parrott
9/5/2010 10:22:17 pm

I was told the Khumar Rouge were trying to do good things by making a classless society. Well, if they were tryign to be good, why did so many people have to die in the process? Also, if it was to truly be classless, wouldn't they be going against their own beliefs because they are above everyone else?

Reply
Peter Falzo
9/6/2010 05:13:26 am

Your story is incredible. Your an amazing person and i have no idea how someone could go through so much in their life and especially at such a young age.

Reply
Pat
9/6/2010 08:01:45 am

Was it difficult to remember all of the small things that happened, like every small detail? And was it difficult to try and recall all of those horrible memories?

Reply
Vanessa E
9/6/2010 11:59:18 am

Your book was very interesting. I would not have been able to deal with what u had to deal with at a young age like that and then be able to tell your story to the world.

Reply
Tiffany
9/6/2010 10:18:18 pm

I cannot imagine what you went through. What helped you keep moving and living when you had nothing?

Reply
Josh Macias
9/6/2010 10:18:43 pm

I was wondering how it was to be trained as a soldier at the age of 5. I have had a troubled life but know where near as troubled as yours. Have you found your mom since you came to Vermont?

Reply
Zack B
9/6/2010 10:19:43 pm

It is amazing that you survived all of that stuff. Your book is very interesting. I cant imagine how it could of be. How can you deal with all the memories now?

Reply
Chandler
9/6/2010 10:20:35 pm

after reading and going over your life's biography and discussing it i can honestly say i have not anywhere close experienced what you have gone through. i think you're brave to share your story with the world and I'm looking forward to listening to you speak at our school.

Reply
Megan Novasel
9/6/2010 10:21:17 pm

It was amazing to me to know that throughout the story Loung never gave up, she had so much strength.

My question to Loung would be how is your life and the life of your sister that is still in Cambodia different now that you have grown up in America?

Reply
Ethan H
9/6/2010 10:21:24 pm

With all the turmoil that has been struck through your young childhood you had to express it in some way. You said the only way you could express was by writing, but was that the only way? but did it actually help?

Reply
Ashley Currier
9/7/2010 10:04:06 am

What did you think about living in Vermont?

Reply
Allison Billetdeaux
9/7/2010 11:55:44 pm

Even though such tragic events occurred in the book, I thought it was beautiful in its own unique way because it was so uncensored, so open, nothing hidden like they usually do in society, the truth. Does it get easier to live every day when you get older, after surviving through something like that?

Reply
Tori Lawrence
9/8/2010 02:36:15 am

Why is the Cambodian genocide not taught in schools in Cambodia?









































































































































































































































Reply



Leave a Reply.